Posted in Uncategorized

Yes! Yes! Yes! But Marriage Equality for the Disabled Needs Work!

images-2
I am so happy that supreme court declared same-sex marriage in all 50 states! That’s a big deal. Now while everyone else posts about it, flooding the media with the news, I’m here standing at a thirft shop, after being done volunteering. I wanted to quote one of my friends. She says:

As my newsfeed is flooded with posts of both celebration and defeat, I am reminded that this is only the beginning of what I hope will be a revolution. There are still smart, and kind people who genuinely believe that there is something wrong with homosexuality. We all see the world through different lenses, but if we are afraid to change our perspective, we might miss the chance to witness something really beautiful, like what happened today.
I am thankful that I have friends I love who respect our differences; I hope that that same understanding can be extended today, when we disagree. Know that I don’t think that your feelings are not valid; I just believe very strongly that they are misguided and wrong.
I am so happy, not only for what this means for my friends today, but for what it will mean to our future. I want my kids to live in a world where they are not afraid to love whoever they love, because LOVE is the greatest gift in this life. ‪#‎lovewins‬

I honestly appreciate and respect what she has written. Everyone has different views an looks through different lenses, definitely! I wanted to tell my mom this weekend that I am bisexual, but she’d probably think it is a joke. she actually probably wouldn’t care either knowing that a girl wouldn’t get me pregnant. lol She’s a pretty open-minded woman but just not sure how she’d react. Maybe I’ll just keep it to myself since it wouldn’t change anything either way if I told her or not.

On another note, there is something new I learned today though besides gay rights issues that is just as important. Its the impact of people with disabilities and the federal marriage penalties. Some people with disabilities are prevented from getting married and here’s why:
http://www.dominickevans.com/2015/06/some-people-with-disabilities-are-prevented-from-getting-married-and-heres-why/
1978659_845341162215331_3600276810859964541_n

Author:

Nothing ordinary

Leave a Reply

